An Idiot’s Guide to Planning

img_736533780_482

“Plans are of little importance, but planning is essential.”
Winston Churchill

 

 

I am notoriously indecisive in my personal life. Surprisingly I am highly organised at work, bordering on neurotic – with a love of to do lists (today’s was one A4 page) and spreadsheets – but for some reason this just doesn’t translate to my every day existence. I’ll quite happily go along with the general consensus – not because my friends are bossy or I’m a pushover – but because I’m never really sure what it is that I want – for dinner, to watch on the tellybox, to drink. I like to think that I am getting better as I get older but I still find it incredibly difficult. There’s so much choice! I am that annoying person who looks around the table clutching a menu, asking what everyone else is having. The one who chooses three or four potential dishes, and then randomly changes her mind when it’s time to place an order. So I’m a little concerned about my ability to plan this once in a lifetime trip.

After what can only be described as a massive amount of fannying around, I finally took the plunge and decided to go it alone. That’s right, world. I’m a-coming. Lock up your sons and breakables. Only kidding. About the sons, that is. If I’m staying with you its best to lock up anything I can bang into and smash because I am the epitome of a bull in a china shop. But seriously, this alone took up the majority of my decision making capability. My brain aches with the task, it’s probably thinking about packing its bags and sodding off out of my noggin.

Who knew there would be whole new levels of faffing for me to reach? I wish someone had warned me. I am now left with the daunting prospect of deciding where I want to go, and more importantly, where it is feasible for me to travel to/from and how much time I should spend in each place. I wish the itinerary fairies would scribble a tour and some wise words down as I slumber **closes eyes and wishes for fairy dust**

Failing the intervention of mythical creatures, does anyone have any advice for me? Countries and places that are not to be missed? I’m enjoying reading about them all and am having some pretty vivid daydreams about temples and markets, huge cities and sandy beaches, while I’m sat at my desk. This part I can get on board with. This part doesn’t scare me. I can’t wait to travel, I’m a little impatient that I’ve got to wait.

But all these countries seem pretty freaking awesome to me and I’m finding it hard to narrow down a route. My must see countries – places I’ve always wanted to visit – include:

  • New Zealand
  • North America
  • India
  • Nepal

I am also taking part in The Great Debate of Round the World vs. choosing a couple of countries and spending a few months in each. Do I want to pack in as much as I can, or do I want to stop and experience living life in another culture? I don’t want to feel like a tourist, that’s for sure. I want to push myself. I don’t want to be in my comfort zone. This trip is about meeting new people and living within another culture, and at the risk of sounding like stilton, cheddar AND gorgonzola on toast, I want to learn things about myself **rolls eyes**

Bah!

Excuse me while I tear my hair out.

One Reply to “An Idiot’s Guide to Planning”

Leave a Reply

