Books In My Backpack

“Don't worry, about a thing,every little

I can’t find my backpack so these books aren’t actually stashed away ready for departure. They’re on my Kindle and my beloved backpack is currently either a) festering away in the loft because my Dad’s stashed it somewhere out of site b) left somewhere random in London when I moved (maybe Murdoch has stolen it and made it his new perch of choice) or c) in the shop where it is waiting for me to come along and purchase it. Again.

**any recommendations for backpacks greatly welcome**

I have heard that New Zealand is pretty pricey when it comes to literature – and that even goes for second-hand books – so I’m going to download a few novels in preparation. Now during my life PK (pre-kindle) I was an absolute zealot when it came to print vs. digital. I was firmly on the print side of the fence but now, after joining Cult Kindle, I’m kind of in the middle.

I love actual, physical, beautiful, books (library or second hand are my favourite – there’s something about the smell and feel) and I felt really blue after I’d read this Buzzfeed feature about all the stunning front covers for debut novels in 2014, because I won’t be able to buy any of these beauties.

But the kindle is also kind of a life saver. I could not go away for eight months with only a couple of novels, I would be miserable and very, very poor from buying up all the books.

So here’s what I’ve stashed in my (missing) backpack via the medium of Kindle so far:

 

Where’d you go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

This was a recommendation and not my usual fare. However, I read the blurb – and listened to the various people recommending this to me – and it sounds brilliant.

I love the idea that it centres on a disappearance and, for once, it’s a novel I have not heard that much about.

Nobody is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacy

As cheese fest as this sounds, as soon as I read the write-up about Lacy’s novel, I knew it had to be added to the list. Its about a woman who ups and leaves her stable life in America and goes to ….drum roll please…New Zealand.

“Without telling her family, Elyria takes a one-way flight to New Zealand, abruptly leaving her stable but unfulfilling life in Manhattan. As her husband scrambles to figure out what happened to her, Elyria hurtles into the unknown, testing fate by hitchhiking, tacitly being swept into the lives of strangers, and sleeping in fields, forests, and public parks.” (Amazon)

Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi

I have never read anything by Oyeyemi but have always had her on my TBR pile. Its the fifth novel from the author who was named in 2013 as one of Granta‘s best of young British novelists. I have always heard her described as one of the most engaging and dynamic writers, and you can’t really get a better write up that! I also really want to read Mr Fox but the cover for this novel just looks so inviting and mysterious, I had to download this book first. I also love that this is a retelling of the Snow White myth – I love reimagined fairy tales!

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Not content with having THE coolest name in fiction writing, Rowell is also uber-talented. I have already read both Eleanor & Park and Fangirl, but I wanted to try her adult fiction, not just the YA (which is my favourite genre) I’ve been gobbling up. And with such great reviews like, “Reading her work feels like listening to your hilariously insightful best friend tell her best stories.” (Library Journal) and with the impending absence of my own best friends, why wouldn’t I want to read it?

 

I will also be taking physical (heavy) books in the form of my Lonely Planet guides to both New Zealand and South Pacific. Oh, and I’m *fingers crossed* managing to get my Mslexia subscription carried over to digital for the journey!

So do you have any recommendations for reads while I’m travelling? Four books wont get this bibliophile very far! What have you read recently that you just couldn’t put down? Is there a particular book you read on your travels that stands out or makes you think of certain places/people you met along the way?

 

Leave a Reply

