Face Your Fears #GetBrave

“I have to face the fear. I have to take control of the situation and find a way to make it less frightening.”

Veronica Roth, Divergent

I mentioned in my previous post how I am aiming to get all you lovely lot inspired, motivated, and feeling just a little bit like The Boss that you are. Yes you!

When life is extremely busy it’s easy to forget the things you really want. The bills have got to be paid, you have to eventually make time for sleep. But, really, we shouldn’t lose sight of what we really want.

For me, it’s writing.

Anyone who knows me is aware that my one great ambition is to be a writer.

I studied Creative Writing at university and I though that my life was on the right track to getting the career that I wanted.

[Life enters centre stage]

Life cares not for your plans and sometimes it throws so much stuff at us that we’re not quite sure how to deal with it anymore. My early twenties were, let’s just say, eventful. After the shock death of someone close to me straight after finishing university, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do anymore and I certainly didn’t think that I could be a writer. My confidence was at an all-time low, my head was confused, I was lost, and it has taken me most of my twenties to come to terms with this loss, and to accept that life doesn’t always go the way we expect it to. My anxiety and self-doubt held me back in most areas of my life. My mentality was ‘if I don’t take a risk, I can’t get hurt, and I can’t lose anything, so nothing will change.’ Crazy, huh?

But look at this way: there’s a sort of beauty in not having everything all figured out.

With the impending thirtieth birthday lurking around the corner, I made the decision to go after my dreams *cheese* starting with the solo trip I took around New Zealand, Australia, Bali and Hong Kong at the beginning of the year. I’d always wanted to travel but I’d been too afraid to go it alone. Queue time to #getbrave and give it a little guts.

So, with this in mind, I’m aiming to honour that childhood dream of mine, stop being so negative, and give it a shot, because, who knows? It might actually work out.

I’ve told you how I have just written my first article for North West based magazine Northern Soul (check it out here) which saw me interviewing Caroline Steinbes, the director of a new version of The Crucible staged at Manchester’s Royal Exchange Theatre. The next interview was even more terrifying. Although I’m not going to mention any of the wonderful advice she shared with me here (you’ll have to read the article), I will tell you that it was the brilliant Kate Mosse, chair of the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, and all round world-famous author. Gulp is an understatement.

With this new found gumption, I’m professing that we all decide to be a little bolder and #getbrave. Don’t get me wrong, its exhausting, what with temping, trying to find a copywriting job, and having time to do all the other things life demands of us, but it’s certainly worth it.

I’ve even decided to dust off the first draft for my young adult novel, and try and 1) finish it and 2) submit it by the end of the year. Wish me luck!

Come on everyone, it’s time to face your fear.

Along with my #itsnotgrimupnorth series where I wax lyrical about all things Manchester, I’ve decided to start another new series on the blog! (Hurah, I hear you all cry) called #getbrave where I’m hoping I can get you lovely lot involved with sharing words of wisdom, tales of inspirations and ways to keep each other motivated.

Sometimes all people need is a little support, a chance to shine, or just someone to listen. Lets help each other out!

Like the sound of this? Visit me over at Twitter @EmmaYatesBadley or leave a message below with your pearls of wisdom.  

 

Leave a Reply

